Sweet New England

A few years back, I had a dear friend who always asked me why I referred to the North-Eastern states as ‘New England’ all the time, instead of just saying what state I was talking about.  Well, if any of you have ever been to the New England states, you should understand that it is a collective place rather than individualizing the states.

The states of New England hold a special place in my heart, and are as much of a feeling to me as they are a place.   The quaintness of towns, cool breezes, foggy rain,  sea ports and fisherman, wild and vast mountains… even their clothing has its own culture there.

Well, I was perusing the markets the other day, and came across these adorable dishes…

As soon as I saw them, I instantly wanted a cup of New England chowder.

I love that a simple piece of pottery can immediately take me to a place, or strike a memory that makes me associate it with a food.

So, in honor of the cool, rainy Spring  weather we have had this week…I made chowder, cheddar and chive scones….

…and some fried cod to go with it.

The cod came from a local company here, and was super fresh and sweet to the taste.

I found a simple cod batter recipe, and deep fried the pieces for about 3-4 minutes.

 

I like to make my chowder with a bit of a bisque flavor by adding the sherry and nutmeg.

Feel free to omit these two ingredients if you are not fond of that flavor.

Potato Corn Chowder

4 slices of bacon, cut in 1″ pieces

2T unsalted butter

1 rib of celery, diced

1/2 yellow onion, diced

1 1/2t fresh thyme

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 bay leaf

4 ears fresh cut corn, or 1 Cascadian Farm Organic frozen 10 oz pack

2 small russet potatoes, diced with skin on

3C milk

2T sherry

pinch nutmeg

salt, fresh cracked pepper

1.  Heat the bacon pieces in a 4Qt pot over medium heat, and cook until crispy. Remove all pieces but 2 tablespoons worth and set aside.

2.  Add butter, celery, onion, thyme, garlic, and bay leaf.

3.  Cook until onions are soft, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes

4.  Add in your corn, milk, and potatoes.

5.  Cover, bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer for about 20 minutes.

6. Take the lid off the pot, and let it boil for 5 minutes to reduce the liquid a little.

7.  Add in the sherry, salt, pepper, and nutmeg.

8.  Take a potato masher, and mash some of the soup to make it a bit thicker.

9. Serve with reserved bacon bits and  fresh thyme on top.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Inspire Your Appetite

7 responses to “Sweet New England

  1. Suzy Phillips

    Oh my god! That all looks amazing!

  2. jenni park

    I have found you Tia! I saw a link to this blog from a slow food email and I’m so glad I clicked on it… the first recipe I clicked on (the chowder) sounds unbelievable! I cannot wait to make it! Just wanted to say hello!!!

  3. jenni park

    Sweet (the peppermint oil)! Thank you! You don’t cook like that every night, do you??? My god. I’ve been struggling with my inner cook lately… wondering why I can’t find her… every night starting dinner feels like torture, partially because I’m tired of all the food we regularly eat. But a little inspiration might do the trick.

    Here’s a question for your blog… what do you do on nights when you don’t have much time? I know you call yourself “season it slow” but still. You MUST have quick meals up your sleeve.

    • I might cheat with some pizza or tacos from next door! :) It’s hard to cook after a long day. I do keep ‘extras’ in the freezer, such as meatballs, croquettes, pizza dough, baguettes, fresh pasta, and sauces. Then it is easy to just pull something out. Thai food or a simple Asian dish is always quick and easy too. I’ll try to incorporate more Thai or Indian dinners. I am taking the peppermint oil to work, and will give it to you or Joe when I see you next! Thanks for reading my blog, and I will try to add quick meals.

  4. jenni park

    Hey girl, it’s your blog, you do whatever YOU want to do! :) I am really enjoying reading through it though. Can’t wait to try one of your recipes. :) :) Can’t wait for the oil… I will make THE BROWNIES FROM HEAVEN (and then try not to eat them all)
    Jenni :)

Leave a Reply

