Italian Olive and Lamb Pasta (Tagine dish #2)

Last Fall, my husband and I went touring around Italy.  Sienna and San Gimignano were some of my favourite towns.  The olive bushes were everywhere throughout the town of San Gimignano.  The leaves of the bushes are a beautiful silver green like a sage or a salvia bush.

 

 

The Tuscan landscape was everywhere you looked as well.

 

It was rainy, and quaint…a perfect day to enjoy some afternoon pleasures such as the local wine and cured meat plates along side a window view of the Tuscan valley.

At home, we enjoy this lamb dish a few times a year during the cold months.  It has a rich sauce that the pasta seems to drink up, and is warming with the red pepper flakes and large chunks of garlic.  The olives pair well with lamb and rosemary….I only wish I had some of those exquisite fresh olives from Italy.

You can pick up some lamb at your local farmers market or direct from the farm.  Around here, we are bountiful with local meat farmers.  East Fork Farm has wonderful lamb for purchase.

Italian Lamb and Olive Pasta

1.5 lb leg of lamb in 1" cubes
2T olive oil
sea salt/cracked pepper
3 sprigs of rosemary
3 cloves garlic, in large chunks
1/2t red pepper flakes
2T balsamic vinegar
1/2C sherry or chardonnay
10 large green olives
  1. Heat olive oil in tagine or medium skillet over high heat
  2. Saute lamb until brown, add in salt and pepper
  3. Add in garlic and red pepper flakes, turn down to medium heat
  4. Add in balsamic and cook for a few minutes until it starts to caramelize and thicken
  5. Deglaze pan with sherry/wine, add in olives and rosemary, cover with lid and cook 20 minutes until tender.
  6. Serve with butter and garlic pasta noodles

Olives

2 Comments

Filed under Inspire Your Appetite, weekly dinner ideas

2 responses to “Italian Olive and Lamb Pasta (Tagine dish #2)

  1. Suzy Phillips

    This sounds lovely! I love East Fork Farm, their lamb is delicious!
    I made lamb merguez sausage last night from East Fork, I had a shoulder from them that i bought a couple of months ago. It was my first time making sausage and I believe I found my calling!
    I love your photos, I need to travel soooo bad!

Leave a Reply

